Telegram’s Security Checklist

a year ago

Blocking incoming calls

If you use messenger only for chatting (in the extreme case on voice message), you don’t want to get calls for sure.

HOW TO: —> Settings —> Privacy and Security --> Calls —> Everybody/My Contacts/Nobody

* It’s possible to add exceptions

Two-factor authentication

For log in, beside verification code (on SMS), the password is needed.

HOW TO: —> Settings —> Privacy and Security —> Two-step Verification —> Set Additional Password

* Useful to add e-mail, in case you forget the password

Delete your account

If you do not come online at least once within some period, your account will be deleted along with all messages and contacts. In a month, three months, a half year or a year. Probably made for exclude the "ghosts".

HOW TO: —> Settings —> Privacy and Security —> Delete my account if away for —> 1 / 3 / 6 months or a year.

Setting password

For using messenger you will be asked to enter the code. Safe from prying eyes, that can use your phone or PC.

HOW TO: —> Settings —> Privacy and Security —>Passcode Lock —> on/off —> Change Passcode

Hide time when you were online

Two-edged sword. If you hide you time last seen, you can’t see last seen of others.

* You can hide it for all or only for some

HOW TO: —> Settings —> Privacy and Security —> Last seen --> Everybody/My Contacts/Nobody

* It’s possible to add exceptions

Username instead of phone number

For using Telegram it’s not necessary to know phone number of your communicator. It’s enough to know the username. You also have the option to hide your phone number (safety!) just adding a nice username.

HOW TO: —> Settings —> Username —> Type your name without @

Invitations to channels and groups

Telegram gives the opportunity to add automatically to channel 200 contacts from contacts list. If you don’t want to be a ‘victim’ of bad promotion, deny to add you to anywhere.

HOW TO: —> Settings —> Privacy and Security —> Groups  —> Who can add you to —> Everybody/ My Contacts

* It's possible to add some users for Never Allow. But to forbid for all users are impossible.

Check and turn on things that you didn’t know. Remember that keeping your messenger safe doesn’t mean keeping from "physical" hack. Keep your info under the passwords and the phone with you.